Skip navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.


Charles W. Hartman Memorial Lecture

Lectures: Alice P. Mead, senior adviser for Greenwich Biosciences, will deliver the annual Hartman Lecture on March 5 at noon CT.

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, CC-BY-SA, Imagery © Mapbox Powered by LEAFLET

Alice P. Mead, senior adviser for Greenwich Biosciences, will deliver the annual Charles W. Hartman Memorial Lecture on March 5 via Zoom Webinar.

The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy is hosting the free virtual event at noon CT, as the Zoom link can be found at Mead, whose work focuses on domestic and international drug control laws and policy issues affecting cannabis, will present “Is There A Future For Cannabis-based Medicines?”

From 1999 through 2019, Mead served as vice president of U.S. public policy and public affairs for GW Pharmaceuticals and its U.S. subsidiary Greenwich Biosciences. GW Pharmaceuticals is one of the first companies in the world to develop cannabis-derived medications as prescription products in adherence to modern scientific and regulatory standards for pharmaceutical products.

Mead received her Juris Doctor degree from University of Santa Clara School of Law and Master of Law degree from Yale University. She served for 12 years as an in-house counsel to the California Medical Association, one of the largest state medical associations in the country.  

Prior to that time, Ms. Mead was a litigation associate at a global law firm and an assistant professor of law at Arizona State University College of Law, where she taught courses in constitutional law.

The Hartman Lecture was established at the school in 1973 to honor the late Charles W. Hartman, who was dean of the pharmacy school from 1961 until his death in 1970. Former lecturers include American Board of Medical Specialties President and CEO Lois Margaret Nora, former Mississippi Gov. William F. Winter and two former U.S. senators, Thad Cocharan and Trent Lott.

For assistance related to a disability, contact | 662-915-7265

Event posted by: