Faculty Recital Series

Share on Facebook Twitter Email Email

Date: 10/21/2013

Time: 7:30 PM (CST)

Location: Oxford Campus, Music Building Room 123 Nutt Auditorium

Arts and CultureArts and Culture: Oxford Piano Trio & Faculty Woodwind Quintet collaborate to kick off the 2013-14 Faculty Recital Series. Tickets: 662-915-7411

Open to the Public

Ticket Required

Full details:

The first concert of the Music Department Faculty Recital Series will feature two faculty ensembles, the Oxford Piano Trio and the Faculty Woodwind Quintet.  The Piano Trio, consisting of Robert Riggs, violin; Susan Gaston, cello; and Stacy Rodgers, piano, will perform Robert Schumann's Quintet for Piano and Strings, with guest performers Joshua Howard, violin and Yan Mao, viola.  The Faculty Woodwind Quintet includes Diane Wang, flute; Katy Piecuch, oboe; Michael Rowlett, clarinet; Caroline Kinsey, horn and Adam Estes, bassoon; this ensemble  will contribute a suite of Hungarian folk dances by Ferenc Farkas and the lush, lyrical Sextet for Piano and Winds by Poulenc with Stacy Rodgers.  Members of both groups will be featured for a performance of twentieth century American composer Joan Tower's work "Petroushskates," a work inspired by the rhythmic vitality of the works of Igor Stravinsky and the exhilarating experience of figure skating.  Come hear this exciting and colorful program at Nutt Auditorium, beginning at 7:30 pm on Monday, October 21.

This concert is approved for attendance for Music 103 and Music 100 students.


Event posted by: music@olemiss.edu

Sponsored by: MUSIC