Skip navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.


The Oxford Science Cafe': Evolutionary Biology!

Invitation: Science is fun at the Oxford Science Cafe'! Come and join us for a presentation by Dr. Susan Balenger.

6:00 PM - 7:00 PM Nov. 19, 2019
Uptown Coffee, 265 N. Lamar Boulevard, Oxford, MS 38655
Open to the public
Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, CC-BY-SA, Imagery © Mapbox Powered by LEAFLET

Dr. Susan Balenger from the Department of Biology at the University of Mississippi will present: "The Silence of the Crickets".

Charles Darwin was convinced that biological evolution only occurred over long geologic timespans. More recently, though, researchers have been watching and documenting evolutionary changes happening over human timescales. Dr. Balenger studies one particularly dramatic example of rapid evolution amongst wild populations of field crickets on the islands of Hawaii: following the introduction of a parasitic fly, local male crickets lost their ability to chirp. Unfortunately for these males, chirping is how they attract mates. And all of this happened in less than 5 years – the blink of an eye in evolutionary terms. Dr. Balenger will discuss h o w and why interactions between these species could produce silent crickets, the ways that cricket mating behaviors have subsequently changed, and what it is like to watch evolution in action.

Cost: Free!

Oxford Science Café: Monthly conversations about the science we know and the science we don't know. Everyone is invited, and children are welcome! Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

For assistance related to a disability, contact Jake Bennett: |

Event posted by:

Sponsored by: Office of the Provost, UM Women in Physics, Department of Physics and Astronomy